The Ohio Sci-Fi and Horror Marathons

The Official Forum of the Ohio Sci-Fi and Horror Marathons
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 5:15 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 9:55 pm 
Site Admin

I'll be posting an extended review of this year a bit later on (still kinda recovering), but everyone feel free to post your comments, thoughts, and what-not here in the meantime.

I'll also announce when I've got the pictures uploaded to the Archives. So ... have at it ... :)

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 12:19 am 

As I said on the Facebook page today, this is one of the most fun marathons I can remember in recent memory. I've been coming to these since 2001, and I believe that this was my 10th horror marathon, and it's great to see the event appear to be in such healthy shape.

You guys did a fantastic job of creating an amazingly stinker-free lineup, and even though you faced the challenges of a new venue and juggling multiple projection formats, we managed to fit in all of the scheduled movies. Getting a seat early on was a piece of cake---the whole experience felt very professionally organized.

[b]Some highlights:[/b]

-absolutely loved that remastered print of the Exorcist. While I don't come to these events to see blockbuster-type films, these types of prime-time exhibitions (Psycho and the Shining also come to mind from the last decade) are always some of the most memorable parts of the 'thons.

-Night of 1000 Cats was a lot better than I was expecting. It was extremely funny and over-the-top, and, unlike a lot of these type of "haha, low-budget" type entries, really never lagged. Tons of laughs, tons of fun.